The Power of Lox

30 Aug

What tactics do we employ to cope with inconveniences? I am being prudent in describing my current level of discomfort because Hurricane Irene has left thousands devastated. Locally, hundreds of my neighbors are experiencing tragic consequences of flooded basements. Our neighborhood ranges from the least affected, having to boil water since our supply might have been contaminated, to the most affected—ripping out basement walls and floors while not having power or water.

Personally, we prepared for the worst and are left, fortunately, without power, but with everything else. So, how does my mom figure into this? It’s not just her, but one of my “other mothers” (http://bit.ly/n1Siz5) who I would like to thank for giving me “survival skills.”

To satisfy the basic need to eat and not have to deviate drastically from enjoying our meals, I stocked up on one of my family’s most favorite treats: bagels and smoked salmon. Thanks to my Aunt Elaine (my mom’s sister), I learned that bagels with cream cheese and lox freeze well and then last throughout the day.  Dispersed in the refrigerator and freezer, the lox and cream cheese kept perfectly for the first 48 hours of no power. And, now, we can devour this treat until the power resumes or, at least, for our lunch and snacks today.  It is a trivial, but welcome diversion from current conditions. Thanks to my aunt and our many hours of touring her home city, London, I also learned to rely on bananas because they do not have to be washed. With the chance of contaminated water flowing, bananas are a mandatory snack.

I am fortunate to have been influenced by my resourceful mom and aunt. Their mother also figures into this since my grandma coped with many tragedies and still helped us all realize that we should be satisfied with what we have.

In the meantime, I hope that you have survival tactics and wonder what role your mother played in helping you develop them.

 

One Response to “The Power of Lox”

  1. Deborah the Closet Monster September 1, 2011 at 12:38 am #

    My mom wasn’t good with proactive planning, but she was excellent at getting through almost any circumstance at hand with what was on hand. This is the second greatest survival tactic she passed on to me, although she was better at it than I. The greatest survival tactic she passed on was hope. There’s so much else that would’ve been irrelevant to me if she hadn’t worked so hard to instill in each of her kids–despite rough circumstances–the import of this little, enormous thing.

Leave a Reply

