Quinoa and other food obsessions

28 Jul

Confession: I have a new food obsession: quinoa. And, I know– I am not the only one! Over the past year, I have sampled this great non-gluten grain at various gatherings. It wasn’t until I took the plunge and made some myself that I became completely infatuated with quinoa. The rational is quite logical: it’s packed with protein and fiber, low in carbohydrates, versatile and extremely easy to make. I can get the quinoa craving and 25 minutes later, I have enough to make savory salads and even breakfast porridge. My most memorable quinoa moments include: 1. Making it for Passover (yes, non-gluten and allowed during Passover!) and receiving rave reviews. My friend gave me her recipe which includes walnuts, peas or string beans, green onions, garlic, balsamic vinegar and a bit of olive oil. 2. Making it for my brother-in-law who is controlling his blood pressure by going gluten-free—and for a friend who has recently given up gluten. I consider each to be a food connoisseur and each devoured it. 3. Making it for breakfast!!! A friend’s porridge recipe (mix with almond butter, almond milk, apple sauce, raisins….) is so delicious and nutritious.

As I have become increasingly obsessed with quinoa, I keep flashing back to the time that my mom first roasted soybeans. It was 1980: I had just turned 16 and she had just quit smoking. To help herself, she became vigilant about not smoking and living a healthy life.  Her soybean obsession was just a start on her new extremism. There is a Part 2 to this soybean experience which I’ll save for another post. And, there is a non-healthy food obsession we shared that will be yet another post.

I am sure my mom would have shared my quinoa obsession. I wish she could have enjoyed creating quinoa concoctions with me.

I wonder what food obsessions you or your mom have had and were there any you shared?

3 Responses to “Quinoa and other food obsessions”

  1. Susan July 28, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    I made quinoa on Sunday. I more-or-less followed Martha Rose Shulman’s Quinoa and Beet Pilaf recipe (http://nyti.ms/qUtMZS). There’s no need to blanch the greens first – just cook them in the olive oil a bit longer. I threw in some fresh basil from my garden. Yum!

  2. Shari Danzig Stein July 28, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    Just printing the recipe, can’t wait to try it-thanks!

  3. Robin Kahn August 2, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    I made quinoa salad recently for a friend who is now gluten free and she really liked it…used basil from the garden…yum: http://www.care2.com/greenliving/sexy-vegetarian-recipe-summer-basil-quinoa-salad.html: this is the link for the recipe….
    can’t say i remember my mom having any food obsessions except for maybe drinking Tab…does that count? fortunately that gene did not pass onto me as I can’t stand any drinks with bubbles…they burn my tongue and lips!

Leave a Reply

