Barbie’s Runway

6 Jul

Fashion by Phyllis

I loved dressing my dolls as a child and always appreciated the unique and custom-made clothing my mother crafted for Barbie, Crissy and Kerry. You might notice in the photo that Kit, a current American Girl, is not wearing one of her usual outfits. She is wearing a dress my mother made for Crissy (remember her from the 70’s?) –a great sign that classic fashion stays or comes back in style! This was proven last week while my nieces were visiting and chose that dress for Kit to wear to our New York City American Girl lunch. My daughter  has not played with or dressed Kit for about 7 years so it was great to see her getting attention and a makeover.

I have told my daughter and I told my nieces all about the clothing my mom would craft. She would buy the Singer patterns or create her own. Usually she used fabric left over from hemming or making her own clothing—illustrating her special talent and typical economical habit. She even made a fur stole with the extra from her Flemington Fur Coat.  Sure, her motivation was saving money while giving my dolls a tremendous wardrobe, but I am still grateful for her ingenuity. It certainly took a ton of time and planning to provide such beautiful ensembles.

 I wish my mom could see these dolls now! Her creations/their outfits certainly have stood the test of time and still provide a very special link to my mom. I do not know of any other moms who also made their daughter’s doll clothing, do you? While my daughter and nieces did not mind the “no brand” clothing, would girls today be satisfied with this clothing or would they pine for the “real” designer doll dress?  What memories do you have of things that your mom or dad created for you to play with?  

2 Responses to “Barbie’s Runway”

  1. Deborah the Closet Monster July 6, 2011 at 11:39 pm #

    I wish I could remember any tangible things she made! Most of what I remember my mom creating was laughter. Lots and lots of laughter.

    • Shari Danzig Stein July 7, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

      I love your comment -that sounds like the best “thing” she could have made. How wonderful that you remember her for that!

Leave a Reply

