Pomp and Circumstance

31 May

Susan's Graduation, 1981

This spring is blooming with special family events: an awards dinner, a family trail run, a junior prom, a graduation, and more to come. My nephew’s graduation from Swarthmore College this past Sunday might top the list, so far. I imagine, though, that if I could attend his twin brother’s graduation from Carlton College, it would tie for first place.  We’ve known that Swarthmore is unique and special ever since my sister decided it would be her alma mater.  We attended this year’s ceremony which, incidentally, has not changed much since my sister and brother –in-law graduated. Just as my mom, dad and I did 30 years ago, we all sat mesmerized by the inspirational and humble speeches. We learned and laughed so much that the 2+ hour ceremony seemed to take only a few minutes.

I wish my mom could have been with us  May 31, 2011 just as she was on May 30, 1981. She would have been beaming as Jordan, her grandson whose company she loved, received his diploma.  She would have reveled in the legacy that my sister and brother-in-law created. And, she would love, as I do, the family bonding that takes place at such gatherings. That’s what it is all about anyway—the family coming together to celebrate an individual (super impressive one….), each other and the family dynamic.

What celebrations do you have this spring? How do you manage to make sure all of the family feels important while celebrating individuals? What aspect of your celebration is unique and different from other family functions?

One Response to “Pomp and Circumstance”

  1. Deborah the Closet Monster June 1, 2011 at 12:46 am #

    I was about to say that I don’t think my family has m/any spring celebrations, but it occurs to me that’s not quite true. Both my just-younger sister and I graduated in the spring, which means there are a couple of sweet memories of those bygone days to smile at.

    I’ll be doing my part to ensure there are more spring celebrations for future generations of my family to share!

Leave a Reply

