Go Girl

15 May

After today’s inspirational Susan G. Komen North Jersey Race for the Cure, I couldn’t wait to write this post. What a great, very pink day! The run through the South Mountain Reservation was beautiful and invigorating despite the drizzle. But, the most captivating part was the crowd remembering women who lost their cancer battle and celebrating those who survive. A speaker, Hoda, a cohost on the Today Show gave an inspirational speech, reminding us that each day has a huge and meaningful impact on our lives. She convinced me that any change I want to make in my life starts with what I do today, tomorrow, the next day….

My mother reacted to cancer the way these inspirational women did—she decided to not be scared and to fight with both physical and emotional strength. She read books about using emotional tools to heal and she found experimental treatment to try as a last resort. When she (or more accurately, the doctors) thought she was cured, she tried to move on and actually moved to a new state, starting over.

At the very least, I wish my mom could have walked or run in a race to the cure (isn’t that what she did during the years she was sick, anyway). But, rather than dwell on that obvious feeling, today I felt the power of the people at the race. And, I wonder what charities you have supported with, not just money, but energy?

One Response to “Go Girl”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. An assortment of blogging awards « The Monster in Your Closet - June 14, 2011

    […] Shari @ iwishmymom is one of the first bloggers I followed, touched as I was by her personal reflections–and questions–about mother-daughter relationships […]

Leave a Reply

