Happy Birthday Scott

5 Apr

This post is dedicated to my husband. After all my loss is really our loss. While I am sure many men might sometimes wish they were mother-in-law-less, it’s not all that it’s cracked up to be! Today is my husband’s birthday, a perfect example of when it would be wonderful to have a mother-in-law. Scott and I both know that my mother would have sent him birthday wishes and a present. When our children were younger and needed a babysitter, she would have offered to come over so we could go out to dinner. Her presence would help make his birthday a little more special.

When our friends make snide and often facetious remarks about their mothers-in-law, you can just tell that they love having a mother-in-law to make fun of. Often their complaints seem more like tales of endearment. “I turn my phone off when I run an errand for her. Otherwise, she’ll call and change her request 5 times….She asked me to shovel the driveway and then yelled at me for not being inside to eat the pancakes she made.” So, I guess I even wish my mom was here to give Scott fodder.

Actually, Scott and my mom really liked each other. It makes sense that he was enamored with her entrepreneurial spirit and antiques business. He, more than I, initiated discussions about collecting antiques and insisted on joining her at auctions.

As tradition dictates, Scott called her before proposing to me. He was really good at including her. And my mom can even take some credit for our relationship—two times when I was ambivalent about going on a date with Scott, I asked my mother’s advice and both times she led me to the right decision!

Who in your life is most impacted by your mother or the loss of your mother?  What would your husband miss or what does your husband treasure most about your mom?

 

2 Responses to “Happy Birthday Scott”

  1. Naneen April 5, 2011 at 11:57 pm #

    Just read this and I have a lump in my throat. Happy Birthday to your husband! I can’t answer your question because I don’t want to imagine what the answer would be. I guess imagining it scares me. Post some pictures of your mom on the blog if you could.

    • Shari Danzig Stein April 6, 2011 at 6:24 am #

      Thanks Naneen for your wishes. And, I will find more photos–you’re sweet to ask.

Leave a Reply

