Sending out the S.O.S

3 Apr

Who doesn’t like to be fussed over, even once in a while? Having someone worry about you can be bothersome, but it can also be kind of nice, making you feel loved and wanted. Mothers are both famous and notorious for fussing and worrying.

I was reminded of this motherhood ritual the other day when a friend described her mother’s reaction to her recent and very minor injury. She fell while running and walked away with some scrapes and bruises. She took a day off from running, but then got right back on the road, as diehard runners will do. In the meantime, she told her mom about her travail. Within hours and for the next few days, a few relatives and family friends called her to inquire and express concern. All of this attention for a very minor injury! Instead of being annoyed with having to explain all of this each time a call came in, my friend found her mother’s reaction humorous and touching.

When my mother first passed away, I had some very selfish thoughts. I wondered who would worry about me. Who would check on me when I have a cold?  Who, besides my mom, would pick up on that certain tone in my voice, signaling concern?  Adult daughters have some of the same awkwardness as teenagers– we want someone to look after us and help us, but we do not want to be bombarded with questions and comments. We want our mothers to fix us tea when we don’t feel well, but without drowning us!

When is it okay for our moms to send out an alert of our distress?  At what point does their worry become a nuisance? ! Fortunately, I can count on close friends to check up on me, fuss over  and even worry about me. Who, besides your mom, checks up on you?

 

One Response to “Sending out the S.O.S”

  1. lori pitkowsky April 4, 2011 at 7:20 am #

    you do, my dear! xo, lori

Leave a Reply

