It’s in the genes

6 Mar

This is one of my favorite stories. Following Jewish tradition, we planned to name our next child, born after my mother died, after her. Her name was Phyllis so, not knowing the gender of our baby, we chose girl and boy names that started with the letter P. Additionally, I struggled to find a name with the PH, or fff sound. Yet, as we considered names, I could not find one that I liked for a girl. I did find a boy name that was perfect, Philip. Boy was I thrilled when Philip was born! I still wonder how that happened!  To add to this mysterious good fortune, Philip has many of my mom’s traits. I often think how strange it is that he sometimes acts like her, without having met her. Some of the more obvious examples have even caught the attention of family and good friends who knew my mom. My mother was and Philip is very particular about handling food in the most sanitary way. Neither Philip nor my mom would eat after anyone double-dipped at the dinner table or used their own fork when getting a portion of chicken or broccoli. He, like my mom, has a sharp sense of smell.  It’s not just food. Philip makes keen observations and is insightful. He often makes very wise comments or even analyses of people and conversations. He quickly determines which friends he can trust.

I wish I didn’t have to tell this story—that our children were named before their grandparents died. I am fascinated by these coincidences and the science behind inheriting a grandparent’s personality traits. It’s really like having a piece of my mom in my life!

I am sure many parents see these connections between their children and parents. I would love to hear stories about other similar, almost eerie coincidences.

 

Leave a Reply

