How Kim Kardashian Inspired this Post

10 Feb

Strange—coming from someone who does not watch reality TV and knows very little about the Kardashians. Yet, somehow I stumbled upon a story about Kim reaching out to John Edward, the psychic, to communicate with her dead father, Robert Kardashian. Triggered by the story, my son asked me, “If you could ask your mom one question, what would it be?” I found Kim’s quest and my son’s query apropos since today is my mom’s Yahrzeit (18th anniversary of her death) and the one year anniversary of my blog.

Like Kim, or maybe to avoid a difficult decision, I replied to my son that what I’d really like is to have a conversation. One question would not be enough. But, what if that’s all I had, what would I ask? I truly feel stifled by this limitation. I have so many questions. Lately, I wonder what my mom’s childhood was like. I remember some stories she told about walking home from school and living near The Bronx Zoo. There are the mundane things I want to know: What did you wear to school? What was your favorite subject? Who was your favorite teacher? As I brainstorm, I wonder, do we really think to ask these questions while our moms are able to answer? And, I have serious questions about my childhood and her mothering: How did you endure my tantrums? What did you worry about the most while I was a teenager? And, then there are the questions about parenting, how did you decide when to give me an open curfew?  Did you know what went on at parties (not sure how I’d respond….)?  And, there are the philosophical questions—what do you most regret?

The real question I’d love to ask my mother is to have a lunch date with me. We did not indulge in enough leisurely lunches. Simple lunches. More than dinner, eating lunch out, a ladies’ lunch, is a treat. I’d ask her to got to Coco on Main Street because they serve Hale and Hearty soup and I remember her stories about eating lunch at Hale and Hearty in Manhattan. At lunch we could talk about the mundane and the heavy. We’d have the conversation I so desire.

I’d want to tell her that as time goes on and as I raise my children, I become even more certain that she and my dad were amazing parents.  I would ask questions, but really just hope for reassurance and guidance. I started this blog to express how much I am still influenced by my mom. I enjoy exploring our relationship, remembering details and imagining what could have been. I am grateful for your interest. And, I would love to know what question you wish you could ask your mom. And, if she is part of your life, maybe you can still ask.

4 Responses to “How Kim Kardashian Inspired this Post”

  1. lori pitkowsky February 10, 2012 at 7:21 am #

    Your thoughts always inspire me, Shari. You are filled with goodness and have such a positive perspective.

  2. Deborah the Closet Monster February 11, 2012 at 1:21 am #

    I would love to ask if she knew just how much I loved her, through, despite and because of everything. There are so many questions I’d like to know the answer to, but this is the one I’d love absolute confirmation of. I think she did, but I wish I could hear her say that she never doubted it. Not even when I was a grumpy teen.

  3. Cari-Ann Barker February 20, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    Shari,
    I just happen to stumble upon your website, and I’m so glad I did! The 12th anniversary of my Mother’s passing was on 2/12/12, and it was awful! Felt like it had happened the day before, pain was and is quite raw. I had a wonderful relationship with her, but she was very sick for a very long time. Being her caregiver in my formative years was not easy, I became bitter and nasty at times(my anger was with her illness not her). I will never doubt her love for me, as my angel I hope she knows just how much I love her.

    My question for her, Can you forgive me for my bitterness?

    • Shari Danzig Stein February 20, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

      Thanks for finding and commenting on my blog. I also feel regret for times that I was angry with my mom or didn’t find time for her–when I had the chance. Over time I am convinced that my behavior and feelings were normal and my mom might have reacted the same way if she was in my situation. I have to imagine that she never doubted your love for her.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 589 other followers